Sunday, December 9, 2012

2013 Coin of the year awards winners

The winners of 2013 Coin of the Year Awards has been announced by Krause Publications on 5 december 2012. Ninety-nine coins issued in 2011 by mints and national banks worldwide were nominated for the 2013 Coin of the Year Awards, honoring coins displaying the highest achievement in theme, design and marketing. Judges picked winners in 10 categories. From these, they will select an overall Coin of the Year winner. Judges are set to complete their voting in mid December for the overall Coin of the Year Winner. The 2013 COTY Awards will be given on 2 February 2013, at a special ceremony during the World Money Fair in Berlin, Germany. The award winning coins were selected by a panel of judges including authors, editors, numismatists, and members of the American Numismatic Association and Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee.

The 10 category winners for 2013 are as follows:

2013 overall Coin of the Year:
(voting in mid December 2012)

Most Historically Significant coin:
Silk Road
National Bank of Kyrgyz Republic – 2011 Silk Road 10 Som Silver Coin

Best Contemporary Event coin:
Niobium Coin
Austrian Mint – 2011 Robotics 25 Euro Silver and Niobium Coin

Best Gold coin:
South African Mint – Natura Series 2011 Meerkat 50 Rand Gold Coin

Best Silver coin:
Royal Canadian Mint – 2011 Canoe $20 for $20 Silver Coin

Best Crown coin:
Monnaie de Paris – 2011 Charlemagne 10 Euro Silver Coin

Best Trade coin:
Basketball Coin
National Bank of Lithuania – 2011 Basketball 1 Litas Coin

The Most Popular coin of 2011:
Owl coin
National Bank of Mongolia – 2011 Ural Owl 500 Togrog Silver Coin

The Most Artistic coin:
Fog Mists the Pane
Bank of Latvia – 2011 Aleksandrs Čaks 1 Lats Silver Coin “Fog Mists the Pane”

The Most Innovative coin:
QR Code
Royal Dutch Mint – 100th Anniversary of the Mint 5 Euro Silver Coin with QR Code

The Most Inspirational coin:
Protection of the Blind
Mint of Poland – 100th Anniversary of the Society for the Protection of the Blind 10 Zlotych Silver Coin

The Coin of the Year program is sponsored by Krause Publications’ World Coin News.