Wednesday, January 4, 2017

2017 Coin of the Year Awards category winners

Krause Publications announced the 2017 Coin of the Year Awards (COTY) category winners, Finland and the United States were the top winners in the first round of judging in the Coin of the Year competition.

Each nation won two of the 10 categories. While Italy, Japan, Great Britain, Austria, Canada and the Cook Islands each won in a single category.

2017 coty

The COTY Awards are sponsored by World Coin News, the World Money Fair and The Journal of East Asian Numismatics.

All coins in the contest are dated 2015.

Best Bi-Metallic Coin:
Lapland reindeer
Finland 5 Euro - Lapland reindeer

Best Silver Coin:
70 year peace
Finland 10 euro 70 year peace after World War II

Best Circulating Coin:
Kisatchie National Forest
America the Beautiful quarter honoring the Kisatchie National Forest

Most Inspirational Coin:
Salk polio vaccine
March of Dimes silver dollar honoring the 60th anniversary of the Salk polio vaccine

Most Artistic Coin:
70 Years of Peace
Italy 10 euro— 70 Years of Peace in Europe

Best Contemporary Event Coin:
Japan Earthquake
Japan 10,000 yen marking the Great East Japan Earthquake Reconstruction

Most Historically Significant coin:
In Flanders Fields
Canada $20 silver 100th anniversary of In Flanders Fields

Best Crown:
Winston Churchill
Great Britain 5 pound— Death of Winston Churchill ~ 50th Anniversary

Best Gold Coin:
Austria 100 euro Capercaille

Most Innovative Coin:
space-time continuum
Cook Islands $2 that represents the space-time continuum

From these 10 winning coins, an international panel of judges will select the Coin of the Year.

The COTY and the category winners will be given their trophies Feb. 4, 2017, at the World Money Fair in Berlin.

Created in 1984, the COTY Award has been given by World Coin News to recognize the best of the coiner's art and to encourage world mints to continue to challenge themselves in creating these great numismatic works.

Source: Numismatic News.